Community Based Learning

"Community Based Learning (CBL) combines civic engagement with academic instruction, critical thinking, and reflection in a reciprocal relationship that benefits students, community partners, and faculty. The CBL program involve students in community service that addresses local needs while providing students with the opportunity to engage course materials and ideas both inside and outside the classroom." (Definition adapted from the Faculty Service-Learning Handbook, College of Southern Maryland)

Common Terms and Definitions

CBL Requirements

CBL Student Placement Process

CBL DATES TO REMEMBER:

Wednesday, 8/27/14:

  • First Day of Classes

Thursday, 9/4/14

Sunday, 9/7/14

  • Community Mentor sends CBL Placement Orientation instructions to students

Monday - Sunday, 9/8/14-9/14/14

  • Students Attend On Campus Orientation with Community Mentor

Monday - Sunday, 9/15/14-9/21/14:

  • Students Begin CBL Placements

Sunday, 9/28/14:

Monday - Sunday, 10/6/14-10/12/14

  • NO CBL Placements scheduled for this week due to Mid-Semester Break

Saturday, 10/25/14, 11:00am-3:00pm, Newell Fieldhouse

Monday - Sunday, 10/27/14-11/4/14:

Friday, 10/31/14:

Wednesday, 11/19/14:

Friday (beginning at 5:00pm) - Sunday, 11/22/14-11/30/14

  • No CBL placement visits this week due to Thanksgiving Break

Wednesday, 12/3/14:

  • Students to submit Festival of CBL Presentation final draft online:

Sunday, 12/7/14:

  • Last Day of CBL Placements

Monday-Sunday, 12/8/14-12/14/14:

  • Placement Hours Make Up Week (only 2 hours may be made up during this week)

Tuesday and Thursday, 12/9/14 & 12/11/14, Eben Holden, 10:10am-12:10pm:

Wednesday, 12/10/14, Eben Holden, 5:00pm-7:00pm:

Saturday, 12/13/14:

Sunday, 12/14/14:

  • Students with approved Mileage Reimbursement to submit Mileage Log online: www.noblehour.com/StLawU
  • Community Partner Evaluation of Student and CBL Program Due ONLINE by Midnight

Friday, 12/19/14:

  • Last Day of Finals

Continue Reading Student Handbook