Multifaith Services and Celebrations

Gunnison Memorial Chapel

The chapel is normally open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Bean bag chairs, Tibetan Singing Bowl and Lamp are always in the front of the Chapel. Students are invited to come and experience the quiet late at night.

Unfortunately, because of the fire in Gunnison Chapel in the fall of 2013, the Chapel will be closed until the reconstruction is completed.

St. Lawrence University's Policy on Multifaith Practices

Weekly Campus Ceremonies

Gospel Service
Sunday at 4:00 p.m. - Eben Holden

Roman Catholic Mass
Sunday at 11:15 a.m. - St. Mary's Church - 66 Court Street, Canton

Quaker
Wednesdays at 5:00 p.m. - Dana Dining Hall

Zen Meditation
Tuesday from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. and Sunday at 9:30 p.m. - Atwood Hall Chapel

Multifaith Rituals and Celebrations

Noon Organ Concert Series (Multifaith)
Monthly at 12:15 p.m. - For More Information - Unitarian Universalist Church of Canton

Remembering 9/11 - Coming Together! (Multifaith)
Wednesday, September 11, 2013 at 7:00 p.m. - Gunnison Chapel

Autumnal Equinox (Earth-Based)
Sunday, September 22, 2013

Blessing of the Animals (Multifaith)
Friday, October 4, 2013 at 4:00 p.m. - On the Quad (rain location in Gunnison Chapel)

Worship Service for Family Weekend (Multifaith)
Sunday, October 6, 2013 at 10:00 a.m. - Gunnison Chapel

Multifaith United Nations Day (Multifaith)
Thursday, October 24, 2013

Diwali, The Hindu Festival of Lights (Hindu)
TBA

Samhain Celebration (Earth-Based)
TBA

Hanukkah (Jewish)
November 27 to December 5, 2013

Candlelight Service (Christian)
Wednesday, December 11, 2013 at 8:00 p.m. - Leithead Fieldhouse

Winter Solstice (Earth-Based)
Saturday, December 21, 2013 - Unitarian Universalist Church of Canton

Martin Luther King Jr. Service (Multifaith)
Monday, January 20, 2014 - Guilick Theater

Tu B'Shevat (Jewish)
Saturday, January 16, 2014 - Dana Dining Hall

Ash Wednesday Service
Wednesday, March 5, 2014

Purim
Sunday, March 16, 2014

Spring Equinox (Earth-Based)
Thursday, March 20, 2014 - TBA

Fifth Annual J.S. Bach Marathon (Multifaith)
Saturday, March 23, 2014 - Unitarian Universalist Church of Canton

Passover Seder (Jewish)
Monday, April 14, 2014 at 5:30 - Sykes Common Room

Easter (Christian)
Sunday, April 20, 2014

Earth Day (Multifaith)
Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Yom HaShoah (Jewish)
Monday, April 28, 2014

Holi (Hindu)
Friday, May 2. 2014 - On the Quad

Baccalaureate Service (Multifaith) - View Baccalaureate Cards
Sunday, May 18, 2014 - TBA

Jewish High Holy Days 

High Holy Day Services are held at the Potsdam Synagogue
Information about the Potsdam Synagogue, Temple Beth El

     Rosh Hashanah
     Wednesday-Friday, September 4-6, 2013

     Kol Nidre
     Friday, September 13, 2013

     Yom Kippur
     Saturday, September 14, 2013

     Mincha
     Saturday, September 14, 2013

Shabbat Services
Friday, 7:00 p.m. - Congregational Beth El

Islam - A World Of Love And Peace

A world where people love to smile,
And send good wishes all the while.
A world where people offer peace,
And good words from them never cease.
A world where people do not hoard,
But give to those who can't afford.
A world where people help defend,
And heal the wounds and try to mend.
A world where people share a gift,
And help the pauper's spirit lift.
A world where people feel no pride,
But live together side by side.
A world where people purify,
And always on their Lord rely.
This world, we have it in our palm.
Dear people, It Is Al – Islam
            ~By Nabeela Malik and Tanzeela Mahmood