Alpha Kappa Delta Honor Society

The department sponsors a chapter of Alpha Kappa Delta, the national honorary society in sociology.  Eligibility for membership is determined by the respective Chapter according to criteria that meet or exceed the minimum requirement of the national.  The requirements for the St. Lawrence University Epsilon Chapter are:

  • a 3.3 overall GPA (exclusive of the first year) and a 3.5 average in four or more sociology courses.
  • Membership is open to all juniors and seniors who are officially declared sociology majors, minors, or who demonstrate a serious interest in sociology.

The status of Life Member is conferred upon those persons who have been approved for membership by a Chartered Chapter of this society and who have paid the initiation fee for membership.  Membership fee is $40.00

The status of Voting member is conferred upon those Life Members who maintain a current subscription to Sociological Inquiry, official journal of the United Chapters of Alpha Kappa Delta.   Please fill out an AKD Membership Renewal Form to be an active member.

Current Members of Alpha Kappa Delta include:

Evan Castiranni '14
Merrill Clerkin '14
Natalia Cornell-Roberts '14
Star-Quana Jackson '14
Renee Lavigne '14
Morgan McCall '15
Joanna Patouris '14
Austin Roney '15
Taylor Washington '14
Dayle Wilkinson '14

Please see Abye Assefa for more information, and download the membership application.