Community Based Learning

"Community Based Learning (CBL) combines civic engagement with academic instruction, critical thinking, and reflection in a reciprocal relationship that benefits students, community partners, and faculty. CBL programs involve students in community service that addresses local needs while providing students with the opportunity to engage course materials and ideas both inside and outside the classroom." (Definition adapted from the Faculty Service-Learning Handbook, College of Southern Maryland)

Orientation Video

Common Terms and Definitions

CBL Requirements

CBL Student Placement Checklist

CBL DATES TO REMEMBER:

Monday, 1/20/14:

  • First Day of Classes

Friday, 1/24/14:

Sunday, 1/26/14

Friday, 1/31/14

  • Placement Notification Sent to Students via email

Monday - Sunday, 1/3/14-1/9/14

  • Students Attend On Campus Orientation with Community Mentor

Monday - Sunday, 1/10/14-1/16/14:

  • Students Begin Placements

Sunday, 2/23/14:

Saturday-Sunday, 3/8/14-3/16/14

  • NO CBL Placements scheduled for this week due to SPRING BREAK

Monday - Sunday, 3/17/14-3/23/14:

  • Mid Semester Evaluation Meeting with Community Mentor/CBL Director

Friday, 4/18/14:

Sunday, 4/27/14:

  • Last Day of CBL Placements

Monday-Sunday, 4/28/14-5/4/14:

  • Placement Hours Make Up Week (only 2 hours may be made up during this week)

Monday, 4/28/14:

Friday, 5/2/14:

Monday, 5/5/14:

  • CBL Student Time Log uploaded online  (Required for ALL students. If an extension is needed, please submit email request to Julie Johnson PRIOR to deadline.) 
  • Student Mileage Log uploaded online for students with approved Mileage Reimbursement.
  • Community Partner Evaluation of Student and CBL Program Due ONLINE by Midnight

Friday, 5/9/14:

  • Last Day of Finals

Continue Reading Student Handbook