GLBTQI

In keeping with the Universalist values that underpin St. Lawrence University, the Chaplain's Office is committed to working for the full inclusion of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer, and intersex (GLBTQI) in faith communities and in the society at large. We seek to provide support, education, and advocacy for GLBTQI people and their families and friends.

Presentation by Jane Spahr - The Stories Cry Out - Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender People in the Christian Church - February 17, 2010

View Reverend Kathleen Buckley's stole from the Shower of Stoles Project. 

GLBTQI Faculty and Staff

Erika Barthelmess - Biology - barthelmess@stlawu.edu
Margaret Kent Bass - English - mbass@stlawu.edu
Kathleen Buckley - Chaplain - kbuckley@stlawu.edu
Mark Denaci - Fine Arts - mdenaci@stlawu.edu
Danielle Egan - Gender Studies - degan@stlawu.edu
Haley Feickert -Annual Giving & Laurentian Engagement - hfeickert@stlawu.edu
Traci Fordham - Performance & Communication Arts - tfordham@stlawu.edu
Paula Hance - phance@stlawu.edu
Randy Hill - Performance & Communication Arts - rhill@stlawu.edu
Chris Hosmer - Music - chosmer@stlawu.edu
Mary Hussman - English - mhussmann@stlawu.edu
Val Lehr - Dean of Academic Affairs - vlehr@stlawu.edu
Liz MacDougall - Psychology - emacdougall@stlawu.edu
Jennifer MacGregor - Gender and Sexuality Studies - jmacgregor@stlawu.edu
Kara McLuckie - Dean's Office - kmcluckie@stlawu.edu
Lisa Torrey - Mathematics - ltorrey@stlawu.edu
Shaun Whitehead - Associate Chaplain - swhitehead@stlawu.edu
James WIldman - Retired - jwildman@stlawu.edu

Local Resources

Local PFLAG Chapter Contact:                    National PFLAG Website

PFLAG Canton/St. Lawrence County
Unitarian Universalist Church
3 1/2 East Main Street
Canton, NY  13617
315-265-2422 (Reachout)

Local PRISM Group Contact:                        Local PRISM Website
315-265-2422 (Reachout)

Links to Supportive Religious Groups:

Unitarian Universalist Association's Office of Bisexual, Gay, Lesbian and Transgender Concerns

Religious Perspectives on Sexual Inclusivitiy

Educational Resources:

The Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies in Religion and Ministry

The Center for Lesbian and gay Studies in Religion and Ministry (CLGS) is a recently established center of Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, California. The Center serves three distinct but overlapping constituencies: the world of academic religious scholarship; faith communities; and lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgendered people and organizations. CLGS is purposed toward developing programming in each of four major areas: Research, Resourcing, Education for Leadership, and Community-Building/Advocacy.

All programming works to carry out the Center's fundamental mission: To advance the well-being of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgendered people and to transform faith communities and the wider society by taking a leading role in shaping a new public discourse on religion and sexuality through education, research, community building and advocacy.

Ontario Consultants on Religious Tolerance

This website deals with a variety of sensitive religious issues. To read more about a variety of issues related to GLBQT people, see specifically www.religioustolerance.org/homosexu.htm

National Consortium of Directors of LGBT Resources in Higher Education

Gay, Lesbian, Straight Educational Network

Advocacy Resources

Human Rights Campaign

Our Mission Statement: The Human Rights Campaign is America’s largest civil rights organization working to achieve gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender equality. By inspiring and engaging all Americans, HRC strives to end discrimination against GLBT citizens and realize a nation that achieves fundamental fairness and equality for all.

Lambda GLBT Community Services

LAMBDA is a non-pofit gay/.lesbian/.bisexual/.transgender agency dedicated to reducing homophobia, inequality, hate crimes and discrimination by encouraging self acceptance, cooperation and non-violence.

Pride Agenda

The Empire State Pride Agenda is New York's statewide lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) civil rights and advocacy organization. Our mission is to win equality and justice for LGBT New Yorkers and our families. We recognize that while significant cultural, legal and governmental advances have led to greater equality for LGBT New Yorkers, we and our families remain highly vulnerable without the vast majority of rights and responsibilities that most New Yorkers take for granted.