Contact Us    Find People    Homepage
page header
 future students linkscurrent students linksfaculty and staff linksalumni linksparents linksvisitors links

St. Lawrence News


North Country Public Radio's news team was honored with two 2009 National Edward R. Murrow Awards recently by The Radio-Television News Directors Association (RTNDA). NCPR's series The Impact of War at Home won in the continuing coverage category and Native Americans in Baseball's Present and Past won for best sports reporting. Both entries received regional Murrow awards in April, as well as top honors from Public Radio News Directors, Inc. (PRNDI) in June.

"We were especially honored to know that we were awarded two of only 12 national Murrow awards earned by small radio stations -- both public and commercial -- in the country," said News Director Martha Foley '74.

The Impact of War at Home was an extended effort by the stations news team of Foley, Brian Mann, Todd Moe, Jonathan Brown and David Sommerstein. The series chronicles the impact of war on those who remain at home. It includes conversations with families at Fort Drum, as well as coverage of health care issues for returning veterans and how the war in Iraq is reported in American media. The Impact of War was a collaborative project with National Public Radio. Several of NCPR's stories also aired during NPR's newsmagazines, Morning Edition and All Things Considered.

Native Americans in Baseball's Present and Past was produced by Sommerstein, and highlights baseball traditions among the Iroquois and other native peoples from the past to contemporary major league players. This is his second national Murrow award win.

"Needless to say, we are thrilled to have our news team recognized with this top honor in the broadcast industry," said Station Manager Ellen Rocco. "David Sommerstein's piece on the history of Native Americans in baseball and our news team's extensive work on the impact of war at home both deal with subject matter that is quintessentially a part of the North Country, but in both, the NCPR reporters made those stories relevant for listeners across the country. We are very proud of our news staff."

RTNDA has honored outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Since 2005, NCPR has been honored with five national and 13 regional Murrow awards. Both 2009 winning entries can be heard at

Posted: July 2, 2009

St. Lawrence University · 23 Romoda Drive · Canton, NY · 13617 · Copyright ·315-229-5011