Contact Us    Find People    Site Index
page header
 future students linkscurrent students linksfaculty and staff linksalumni linksparents linksvisitors links

Press Releases

St. Lawrence News

Eight students were inducted into Phi Sigma Tau, the philosophy honor society, in a ceremony on May 2, 2012. The organization also elected officers.

Newly inducted members are Jenae Nicoletta, Matthew Darcy, Noah Jenkins, Brittany Reid, Maxwell Miller, Garrett Watson, Kyle Jones and Conor McDermott. They joined members Sarah Baver, Nicole Carnevale, Jacob Fredericks, Kathryn Green, Jack Knych, Mandy Lafond, Charles Spence and Cooper Thompson.

New officers elected for the 2012-2013 academic year are President Jake Fredericks, Vice President Kathryn Green, Secretary Charles Spence and Treasurer Noah Jenkins.

To be eligible for membership in Phi Sigma Tau, a student must have completed three semesters at St. Lawrence; be in the top 35 percent of her or his class; and must have taken at least two courses in philosophy with a philosophy average of at least 3.5. The society declares as its purpose "To serve as a means of awarding distinction to students having high scholarship and personal interest in philosophy; to promote student interest in research and advanced study in this field; to provide opportunities for the publication of student research papers of merit; to organize a professional spirit and friendship among those who have displayed marked ability in this field; to popularize interest in philosophy among the general collegiate public."

Phi Sigma Tau website

Posted: May 4, 2012

St. Lawrence University · 23 Romoda Drive · Canton, NY · 13617 · Copyright ·315-229-5011