Theta Alpha Kappa

The department maintains a chapter of Theta Alpha Kappa, the national honor society for religious studies and theology.  Founded in 1976 at Manhattan College in Riverdale, New York, the society recognizes academic excellence in students of religious studies and theology.

Membership requirements. Undergraduate Students must have:

            1.         Completed at least three semesters (or five quarters) at an institution having a local chapter in good standing.

            2.         Completed a minimum of twelve (12) semester credits (or eighteen quarter credits) in courses representing Religious Studies or Theological Studies.

            3.         Attained a grade point average of at least 3.5 (B+) in such courses.

            4.         Attained at least a 3.0 grade point average (or B) in their total academic program to date.

            5.         Been ranked in at least the upper 35% of their class in general scholarship at the time of induction.

Theta Alpha Kappa offers several rewards for undergraduates, including the Albert Clark Award  for the best papers in Religious Studies or Theology.  Regalia may also be ordered from TAK's vendor, Kenneth E. Jernigan and Associates at:

Past Theta Alpha Kappa Inductees:


David Adams '17

Aaron Bushey-Hansen '16

Brittany Cuff '16

Hannah Gerke '16

Elizabeth Muller '16

April VanOrman '16


Rachel Bickauskas '16

Elizabeth Boissy '16

Rebecca Budrow '16

Teagan Fleiner-Etheridge '15

Abigail Haley '16


Abby Biron '16

Molly Haskell '15

Chelsey Legacy '14

Sean Morrissey '16


Rebecca Allen '14

Sally Dankner '13

Kyle Jones '14

Ali Mihuta '14

Samuel Staples '14

Emma Sutphen '15

Elizabeth Woolf '13


Caitlin Amborski '12

Sarah Baver '12

Carolyn Chakuroff '13


Jonathan Cyphers '12

Ryan Goddard '13

Elizabeth Shaffer '11

Kathleen Slocum '12

Jenna Wallace '11

Claire Washer '13


Phillip Besse '10

Craig Conroy '10

Elizabeth Lewis '11

Katelyn McBurney '10

Casey O'Brien '11

Megan Randall '12

Shawntel Randi '11

Catherine Russell '12


Tiye Gordon '09

Laura Garry '11

Julia Sprague '11


Erin Griffin '09

Jillian Sherwin '08

Kelsey Austin '08

Lucinda Hannington '08